For the very first time the club ventured in to the world above ‘HF’ by entering in to the Marconi CW Contest on VHF and the club members are extremely pleased with the achieved result.

Garo G0PZA commented at the club de-brief that it was an ‘excellent effort’ nevertheless special thanks must be acknowledged for all the hard work undertaken by Kevin G1KAW in setting up the station and for lending us all his VHF equipment, including Antennas, Radio and Amplifiers. Tony G4KLF for his usual amazing support to all our contests and to David G0MRF for lending us his FT736 Radio as our second radio.

The following is taken from the RSGB ..

RSGB Contest Results 144MHz CW Marconi

Twenty-three logs were received this year, which was slightly down on last year’s twenty-five. All logs have been forwarded to the Italian society, ARI, who adjudicate the pan-European Marconi Memorial Contest. Conditions were generally described as `poor’ and `flat’, with some reports of static rain. Best DX was DK6AS worked by G3MEH at 866km. Twenty-two UK squares were active, and as usual there was lots of activity in central Europe with 42 non-UK squares active.

The 24 hour Open section was won by Whitton Amateur Radio Group M2W operating from JO00 square. Tiverton (SW) Radio Club was runner-up, operating from much further West in IO80.

Regular entrant John Lemay G4ZTR entered the Single Operator Fixed section this year, and won the section by a comfortable margin. John continues his record of finishing in the top two of his chosen section every year on record for this contest. Last year’s winner Jeremy Butt G0JJG was runner-up. The certificate for leading station running 25W or less into a single antenna in this section goes to Mike Ryder G0CDA. Like last year there were just two entrants in the 6 hour Open section. The section was narrowly won by M0BPQ, operated by Steve Bunting M0BPQ and Mike Ruttenberg G7TWC. Northampton Radio Club G8N, operated by John Cockrill G4CZB, took second place. Former 24 hour SF winner Dave Edwards G7RAU returned to the contest this year, and won the 6 hour Single Operator Fixed section. Dave beat last year’s winner G3MEH (operated again by Jeremy Browne G3XZG) into second place. The certificate for leading station running 25W or less into a single antenna for this section goes to Mike Sharp G4XPE.

Bob Edgar G0KYS

VHF Results PDF

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.